Today’s news

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania closed entry for Lukashenko

The Baltic countries imposed sanctions against a number of representatives of the authorities of Belarus, including President Alexander Lukashenko.

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania closed entry for Lukashenko

On Monday, the Estonian Foreign Ministry published a list of persons who are prohibited from entering the Baltic Republic for five years. In addition to the president, it includes the head of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the republic, the Minister of Justice and the Prosecutor General, as well as officials from the Lukashenko administration, members of the CEC of Belarus and law enforcement officers.

The Foreign Ministry emphasized that these people allegedly "play a key role in falsifying the election results in Belarus and in using violence against peaceful demonstrators."

According to Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu, Tallinn takes human rights violations in Belarus very seriously, and also supports Belarusian efforts to achieve democratic change.

Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics also said that the country has banned the entry of 30 Belarusian citizens, including Lukashenko.

We remind that after the presidential election in Belarus on August 9, protests broke out in the country. The opposition expressed dissatisfaction with the fact that the current Belarusian leader Alexander Lukashenko was once again elected president, having gained 80.1% of the vote. Protesters claim that Svetlana Tikhanovskaya won, who received a little more than 10% of the vote. In the first days, dozens of residents were injured in clashes, as law enforcement officers used force methods. During the riots, hundreds of people were injured, among them more than 120 security forces. According to official figures, three protesters died.


Photo: from open sources

Другие новости:

By continuing to use our website, you consent to the processing of cookies that ensure the proper website operation.Accept